5 Tips To Ignite Your Professional Brand On Social Media

“Be fearless in the pursuit of what sets your soul on fire.”

Last week, I wrote about building your personal brand on social media. I began by talking about my transition from dead-end sales jobs to discovering my passion, which led me to start building my new career. From there, I discussed the struggles that I had to go through, in order to realize that I had better opportunities to pursue. Social media had ignited my career and personal brand, literally. My successes and triumphs in this field can be attributed to my due diligence and passion for social media. I closed the article with thinking about my future endeavors. Regardless of my next position, I feel very confident that I have longevity and success in this field.

This week, I would like to focus on how to ignite your professional brand on social media. In addition to establishing my personal brand on social media, I have a lot of experience in establishing social media presence for professional brands and organizations. From 2011 to 2013, I managed several small businesses and non-profit organizations’s social media channels in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I believe that those experiences really helped shape my career. With all of the experience that I received from my current company and past clients, I have successfully helped identify business objectives, research target audiences, create engaging content and measure success through key performance indicators and benchmarks.

Here are my five tips to ignite your professional brand on social media:

  1. Create Your Strategy: While it is not mandatory to create a strategy in order to set up your brand’s social media presence, I believe that having a strategy in place will help the brand iron out key objectives, channels, content and benchmarks. Ironing out key objectives and benchmarks will help the Social Media Manager be successful at measuring and tracking results of their campaigns. Remeber, the strategy does not have to concrete and set in stone. It should be fluid and adaptable with the changes and growth the brand.

  2. Establish Your Channels: Borrowing from last week’s article, it is very important to establish your brand’s social media channels. Not every social media channel is going to fit the brand’s objectives and audience. Therefore, it is important research your audience and establish one to two channels, that will be relevant and beneficial to your brand. As your brand expands, expand your social media presence.

  3. Know Thy Audience: Once you have created your strategy and established your social media channels, it is time to determine who your audience is. Identifying who they are and their interests will help you create authentic and consumable content. It will also help you start growing your social media fan base. Nurturing your fans will help create and establish trust, social proof and longevity for your presence and your brand.

  4. Test, Test, Test: One piece of advice: not every glove (strategies, channels, content and copy) fits in the social media world, so it is important to pay attention to your own objectives and test, test, test. Test content, copy, posting days and times, placements and your audience’s demographics. Testing will keep your content fresh and your audience salivating for more from you. With new trends emerging every day, there will be no shortage of testing.
  5. Track and Measure Your Results: After you start to test multiple campaigns across your brand’s social media channels, it is important to track and measure your results. Be very mindful of how your campaigns are spending the allocated budget. Previous campaign benchmarks are going to help calculate the R.O.I of your social media efforts. This is where testing, repeatedly, comes in, so do not panic if you are still trying to determine what is really working for your brand.

The most common question that I have received through out my career is: “who do you prefer to work for: yourself or a professional brand?” I still have a tough time answering that question. Sometimes I want to retort back and say that I love working for both. However, in the scheme of things, it really does not matter to me. I have found my passion in life. I consider myself very lucky to be in the position that I am in today and I would not have it any other way.

Bridging the gap with social media,

Sarah K. Walters

Leave a Reply

