The Challenges of Building My Personal Brand 

“Choose a job you love and you will never have to work a day of your life.” — Confucius

For the past 4 years, I have been very passionate about developing my personal brand on social media. I have worked very hard to immerse myself in the social media industry, by subscribing to social media blogs, participating in webinars and Twitter chats, and attending yearly marketing conferences. It has been very challenging process for me to succeed in.

At times, I assumed that I wouldn’t be able to compete with the already established social media gurus. After I started trying to establish myself, I was terrified that I wouldn’t be taken seriously as a social media consultant, due to my lack of industry experience.

Therefore, I made it my mission to overcome this hurdle and accelerate my experience to the next level. I have had many different passions in my life. I have always considered myself to be very a disciplined and focused in accomplishing my life goals.

My approach to become a seasoned social media manager was no different. During this transition phase of my career, I had to work several part-time jobs to support myself. Looking back, it was not easy for me to focus on those positions, when I was working hard to immerse myself in the social media industry. However, as a result I was able to develop patience for what I wanted most in life.

Every once in a while, I look back and reflect on my decision to change careers and focus on reinventing myself. It helps me put things in perspective and keeps me humble. I have been meaning to put my thoughts into words. I think that this post summarizes how I am feeling about my career and passion for social media.

I included the quote by Confucius at the top of the post, because I think that this describes why I chose to change my career. I am so proud of myself and my accomplishments. I cannot wait to see what this next phase of my career brings me.

Bridging the gap with social media,

Sarah K. Walters

One thought on “The Challenges of Building My Personal Brand 

Leave a Reply

