Courage, Passion & Creativity: 6 Tips From a Personal Branding Enthusiast

This past weekend, I interviewed my sister, Caroline. Like me, she is very passionate about building personal brand. Over the years, I have worked very hard to emulate her successes and her passions. I am very impressed by what she has built for herself.

SW: What do you enjoy most about building your personal brand? Least?

CW: What I enjoy most about building my personal build, is finding the next opportunity! I also thoroughly enjoy meeting other professionals and building my network. I spend upwards of 5 to 7 hours a week on LinkedIn connecting with new people and sharing marketing & communications related articles. This process is my way of communicating my personal brand to my network and sharing what I am truly passionate about.

CW: When I was in college, I had a hard time networking with others. It took me a long time to get comfortable selling myself. All it took was practice, years of interviewing and networking to get comfortable. Now, I work on networking everyday and I love it!

SW: You recently rebranded your consulting business. Has your focused changed with the rebrand?

CW: I have a BFA in Theater Design from East Carolina University. After pursuing work in the theater world, I decided to open my horizons. A friend of mine introduced me to a small business owner in the interior design trade. I went to her showroom and we discussed her need for email marketing and social media marketing. Three a half years later, we are still working together.

CW: Recently, I have been working on finding a full-time job while growing my business. Through ups and downs in the very application processes, I decided to focus on building my business, gaining more clients and rebranding. My focus has definitely changed and grown in terms of the services that I provide and things that I can offer small businesses that are trying to market themselves in the digital age.

SW: Who inspires you the most? 

CW: My parents inspire me the most. They have their own businesses; and always instilled in my siblings and I, that we could follow our dreams. They have never dissuaded us from pursuing our entrepreneurial dreams and follow a non-linear path.

CW: I also look up to Elon Musk and Sheryl Sandberg. I admire individuals who have overcome adversity to pursue their dreams.

SW: Where do you see yourself in five years? Working for yourself? A big brand?

CW: I see working for myself. I am not turning away the possibility of working for a big brand, like Apple, Instagram or SpaceX, I think it would be great. However, pursuing a life as an entrepreneur and building my brand!

SW: You’ve blogged about creativity, courage, and innovation. Are these your true passions?

CW: Yes. When you start a blog, I think its important to write about what you are passionate about, because it provides a meaningful perspective for your readers and audience. Creativity, courage and innovation are truly important to me.

SW: What success stories can you share?

CW: One of my success story’s is my Masters Degree. I am so proud of myself for accomplishing it. It truly changed how I go about things and how I work. It has turned me into a lifelong learner; everyday I work on learning something new and continuing my professional education.

To bridging the gap with social media,

Sarah K. Walters

Leave a Reply

